horizontal line

Fascinating, even daring, programming: the disc starts with Debussy’s ‘Cathédrale engloutie’, building to a muscular climax; but Collot is at his finest in the ultra-rapid leaps of Sciarrino’s Sonata III, where the French pianist’s sense of abandon in the fiercer moments is enthralling.

The careful placement of the Debussy pieces is laudable: ‘Les sons et les parfums’ acts as balm after Sciarrino’s Sonata III, while the unsettled ‘Le vent dans la plaine’ underlines the enigmatic silences and gruff gestures of Sciarrino’s Sonata II.

While the worlds of Debussy and Sciarrino interact and converse with each other, it is in Sciarrino that Collot really feels at home. That said, the performance of ‘Des pas sur la neige’ is one of the finest on record; unfortunately, the slightly blunted sound takes the edge off ‘Le vent d’ouest’. Sciarrino’s Sonata I is given a riveting performance, silence an absolutely integral part of the experience; the Debussy Étude is the perfect appendix.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing