horizontal line

Pamela Chilvers studied piano with Fanny Waterman in Leeds and is a graduate of the Royal Academy of Music. Her music, as showcased on this disc of solo piano and chamber music, is pleasant, well constructed and unfailingly gratefully written for her chosen instruments. The major debt is the English pastoral school (try the finale of the Cello Sonata), although the finale of the Clarinet Sonata seems to go some way towards minimalism. The piece for trumpet and piano, Four O’Clock in the Morning, introduces, effectively, slow swing.

The solo piano pieces Kites and Clouds are atmospheric miniatures beautifully played by the composer herself; the major piano offering here is the six-movement suite Pieces from the Spring. The first movement, ‘Silent Snow’ does have a blanched whiteness about it; ‘Gymnopedie revisited’ is attractive but morphs the fragile mystique of Satie into a rather more generalised warmth.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing