horizontal line

These works are well-represented already on disc, but this compelling new set both enriches that legacy and makes an ideal introduction to the composer’s intricate, dazzling soundworld. For De Leeuw, this was clearly a labour of love and, working closely with the composer, he delivers razor-sharp performances that draw the listener inexorably in. Playing is uniformly electric, pianist Tamara Stefanovich and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras especially shining, while soprano Natalia Zagorinskaya gives a definitive reading of the relatively early masterpiece Messages of the Late Miss R V Troussova. With fine choral contributions, demonstration quality sound and presentation, this is an unmissable set.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing