horizontal line

It is good to see a revival of interest in the neglected charms of Rheinberger’s music. Alongside the Fourth Organ Sonata and the great E minor Passacaglia (from the Eighth Sonata), Carlo Guandalino presents some of the less-performed works: the Ten Trios op.49 and the 12 Character Pieces op.156. The latter display more of the warmth of late romanticism. Although Rheinberger was not himself progressive, one begins to really appre- ciate the crucial influence he surely had on the next generation of composers. He was the master of melody, and it is so good to have an instrument where the top line sings with such charm and authority. The new Alessio Lucato organ is perfectly voiced for this music and Guandalino plays with winning affection for the repertoire.

RUPERT GOUGH Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing