horizontal line

Viol consort Sit Fast may be new to readers but the five young players bring unanimity and intense concentration to the seven Dowland Lachrimae of 1604. In lesser hands, the sequence could sound samey, turgid even: here, one is quickly drawn in to what comes to feel like an arch of great power and affect. George Benjamin’s early Yeats setting for mezzo and viols is an imaginative coupling, its dark melancholy a perfect foil for the Dowland. First-rate sound and presentation.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing