horizontal line

This is a thoroughly enjoyable recital disc on S. Giovanni Battista’s robust 1959 Tamburini organ, played from a three-manual nave console with pipework divided between a main case behind the high altar and a small Echo section placed over the main entrance. These resources offer an idiomatic sound palette to Fabio Macera, who samples a diverse menu of not always obvious music by connected French teachers and pupils, beginning with Guilmant, and including Duruflé’s arrangement of the Prelude to Fauré’s Pelléas et Mélisande Suite and two pieces by Fauré’s pupil Joseph-Ermend Bonnal – Noël landais and Petite rhapsodie. Lefébure-Wély is represented by his Boléro de concert and the Tamborini achieves a satisfying crescendo in Dupré’s Cortège et litanie. Switching to Italian repertoire, Macera performs Bossi’s meditative Ave Maria, an inventive and tightly structured Sonata (no.2) by Giuseppe Manzino (1929-92), and a Toccata by Bonaventura Somma (1893-1960) characterised more by cantabile phrasing than bombast, and reaching a finale more agreeably luminous than triumphant.

GRAEME KAY Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing