horizontal line

Here, Solstice have remastered recordings made by Pierre Labric in the early 1970s. The recordings may show their age in the louder sections but that does not detract from the spirit of Pierre Labric’s fine performances. Apart from four pieces published in 2006, it otherwise represents all of Demessieux’s remarkable œuvre. Demessieux was a tremendous virtuoso and, apart from the more introverted 12 Gregorian choral preludes, these pieces expect the same from any performer. Pierre Labric is clearly not fazed by the complexity of these works, particularly the Études which have been labelled ‘unplayable’. He concludes with his own Hommage à Jeanne Demessieux.

RUPERT GOUGH Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing