horizontal line

Continuing from Tchaikovsky’s First and Second Concertos, Trpčeski with the RLPO and Petrenko turn to Prokofiev.

There is plenty of life in these accounts, but they miss the seat-of-the-pants excitement of the great performances. For the First Concerto, one has to admire Trpčeski’s lightness of touch and the rapport he enjoys with Petrenko. The Overture is sandwiched between the concertos, offering light relief before the most familiar of the Prokofiev concertos, the Third. No stranger to this concerto, Trpčeski plays it with great swagger and confidence. There is accuracy and clarity, too. A pity the finale sounds a little studied, especially as the blossoming out is so finely achieved. Not quite up to expectations.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing