horizontal line

BIS’s championship of the keyboard music of CPE Bach is one of this enterprising company’s most worthwhile endeavours; many collectors will be familiar with Spányi’s excellent concerto recordings with Peter Szüts. Here we have the fourth collection from the composer’s music for ‘Connoisseurs and Music-Lovers’ plus two fillers.

Spányi plays on a 1998 instrument after a 1799 Baldessart Pastore tangent piano (wooden tangents, so the sound is broadly harpsichord-like); the instrument, in addition to una corda, boasts moderator, buffstop and a knee-level damper-raising mechanism.

The music, as so often with CPE Bach, is remarkable in its impact. At his most exploratory (the first movement of the Sonata in E minor), the questing spirit is fascinating. Possibly CPE’s last keyboard work, the brief Sonata in F major Wq65/19 boasts an Andantino full to the brim with life. The substantial Arioso is a piece of high beauty; Spányi finds maximal differentiation of sound. A most stimulating release.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing