horizontal line

In the early 1960s, mercurial maverick Shura Cherkassky made three solo records for World Record Club. He was not by nature a studio animal but the sessions found him in sparkling form and these performances are a delight. He is relatively free in the larger works – Beethoven’s final sonata and the late Schubert A major will not initially be to everyone’s taste – but the collection of shorter works and encores that make up this generous collection are to be treasured.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing