horizontal line

The Norwegian Frank Nordensten (b.1955) studied at the Norwegian State Academy of Music and has found considerable success in the fields of electronic music and digital music notation. This pair of concertos (nos. 2 and 3) are scored for organ, a symphonic ensemble of wind, brass and percussion and, in the third concerto, both adults’ and children’s choirs. Nordensten’s music is impressive and engaging, with attractive use of both rhythmic and melodic cells and the juxtaposition of tonal and atonal elements. The use of the choirs (who sing fragments of poetry by Rolv Møll Nilsen) is inspired. The organ, a P.G. Anderson-era Marcussen, is as sharp as a porcupine and provides the ‘front edge’ to a texture in which the winds and singers provide a canvas of warmer sounds. All of the performances are first-rate. Intriguing and very recommendable.

CHRIS BRAGG Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing