horizontal line

In honour of the Lutheran Reformation, eight chorales (Ein feste Burg; Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland; Vom Himmel hoch; Christ lag in Todesbanden; Komm heiliger Geist; Aus tiefer Not; Erhalt uns, Herr; Nun freut euch) are sung by a chamber choir accompanied by regals, with excellent organ improvisations. The style of J.S. Bach sits firmly behind the fine improvisations on the first four chorales, and following the vocal settings by Distler and Mendelssohn the style of improvisation is adjusted accordingly. The organ is splendid and the playing masterly, with spontaneous musical ideas developed with enviable command over brain and technique.

DAVID PONSFORD Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing