horizontal line

Haydn’s 26th Symphony is one of his most fascinating: both first and second movements feature plainchant, integrated in a work of Sturm und Drang. Christophers presents the powerful, restless first movement perfectly, the raucous valveless horns of its close perfectly judged. The first plainchant melody provides the first movement second subject; the real magic is the oboe’s long-breathed second movement statement of a theme from the Lamentations of Jeremiah. The unusual nature of the symphony continues in opting to end on a (robust) Menuet. Haydn’s Symphony No 86, one of the ‘Paris’ symphonies, is full of D-major life in Christophers’ reading.

Mozart’s Violin Concerto No 3 acts as sandwich filling. This is lean Mozart, but with plenty of spirit. Aisslinn Nosky is a fine, pure soloist; the highlight is the central Adagio, where she spins a magical line over an even more magical accompaniment.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing