horizontal line

Two out of the three pieces here are world premiere recordings (only Op 233 is not). Czerny’s piano writing is consistently florid and requires a pianist who can deliver roulades with Mendelssohnian lightness. Australian pianist Rosemary Tuck is one such; since 2004 she has worked closely with Richard Bonynge, who partners her expertly.

The Introduzione e Rondo brillante dates from around 1833. There is rarely a cloud across its bright sparkling horizons, while the passagework of the Introduzione recalls Chopin. The ‘First Concerto’ of 1811/12, is expansive and dramatic; the exposed horn solos are beautifully played by High Seenan. Tuck plays her own brilliantly inventive cadenza, co-written with Alan Jones. Perhaps in the finale Czerny’s invention droops, but the concerto remains notable.

The Euryanthe piece was written shortly after that opera’s premiere. Czerny has space to explore Weber’s delicious theme in detail, with some wonderfully reflective passages from Tuck.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing