horizontal line

This is a sparkling recital and if, ultimately, none of Yuilianna Avdeeva’s accounts quite merit a top recommendation in these works, each makes a pleasing alternative. There is a fine sense of command and flow to Avdeeva’s playing throughout and if her renditions of the slower numbers – for instance, the Sarabandes in both the English Suite and Overture – do not explore the full depths of Bach’s expressive invention, her way with the quicker dance movements is winning. The Toccata is rendered particularly strongly.

There are many rival accounts of these works, the best being, arguably, Perahia in the Suiteand Angela Hewitt in the Toccata and Overture. Avdeeva occasionally sounds a touched rushed by comparison, especially with Hewitt, who has the tempi spot on. Mirare’s sound, engineered by Andres Neubronner, is beautifully balanced.

GUY RICKARDS Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing