horizontal line

Friedrich Wilhelm Markull is an entirely unknown figure, to me at least. An exact contemporary of Franz Liszt, Markull was the spider in the musical web of Gdansk (then Danzig) in the mid-19th century, active as an orchestral conductor, organist, pianist, violinist, arranger and teacher. He had interesting links with the Brahms-Clara Schumann-Joachim circle, and Brahms’s German Requiem is said to have been inspired by one of Markull’s oratorios. Andrej Szadejko here plays an interesting selection of his organ music on the wonderful 1841 Bucholz organ at Stralsund, which is so obviously ‘plugged-in’ to the 18th-century central German organ building tradition and sounding very splendid following its comprehensive restoration by Klais and Wegscheider. The highlights are the brilliant concluding movement of the Sonata on ‘Nun Danket alle Gott’ and the vigorous Nachspiel in B minor. Szadejko plays with aplomb.

CHRIS BRAGG Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing