horizontal line

Beneath the meditative, still surfaces of Zvonimir Nagy’s prayerful, post-minimalist, ambient-leaning music is constant, if glacially slow, movement. Atmosphere and allusion is all here, Angelus mimicking a tolling bell with subterranean subtlety, the palindromic, five-part Litanies of the Soul carrying itself with exquisitely engineered precision. The largest work, the seven Preludes for a Prayer, offers a contemplative journey from private to public rapture, with the miniature Prayer exploring similar territory in more robust style. The Two Canons more obviously reveal Nagy’s intricate approach: ‘Inner Self’ an involving trio in three different registers, ‘Carmen Perpetuum’ two great tectonic slabs (voiced separately on manuals and pedals) in close but differently paced proximity.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing