horizontal line

This well-filled disc offers an opportunity to hear Maltese composer Charles Camilleri’s Concerto for Two Pianos and Percussion (2005), a work that aims to treat tonality, atonality and polytonality as equals. Quite a challenge, but Camilleri succeeds. McLachlan and Page are superb throughout, revelling in the rhythmic play of the finale and brilliantly atmospheric in the central panel.

The Stravinsky Sacre du printemps is notable for its dynamic range and timbral variety, while Bartók’s classic Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion is heard in a highly atmospheric reading; the faster central section of the middle movement is particularly impressive. The reverb in the louder dynamics is a little excessive.

An invaluable release for the Camilleri; the Stravinsky and the Bartók are perfect bedfellows.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing