horizontal line

There is much fun to be had in Ahreum Han’s colourful transcription of the familiar Offenbach Overture that provides both title and theme for this pleasing, generously-filled compendium of dances, spirits and toccatas. Some items – Johannes Matthias Michel’s Organ, Timbrel and Dance, three ‘jazz organ preludes’ referencing Dave Brubeck, a Lutheran hymn and Leonard Bernstein, and Bach’s BWV 527 Trio Sonata – seem rather tangential but are redeemed by Han’s characterful playing. Bovet’s Hamburger Totentanz is delightfully unhinged, Vierne’s op.55 Naïdes airy and fantastical, Widor’s Toccata immediately bold, Jongen’s Sonata Eroïca both muscular and melodic.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing