horizontal line

This refined Czech ensemble gives a finely nuanced, warmly expressive reading of Schubert’s final masterpiece in the genre. If the players’ earlier disc, the traditional coupling of the Rosamunde and Death and the Maiden quartets, may have been a touch too restrained for some listeners, here there is no want of fire or volatility. With demonstration quality sound, and a welcome coupling, this performance deserves to be heard.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing