horizontal line

Queyras’ lack of sentimentality and his sense of drive in the Elgar are very welcome, as is the urgent and ripely idiomatic contribution from an orchestra currently at the top of its game. The Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations has great poise and zest, and as a bonus we are treated to two short pieces by Dvořák – Silent Woods and the Rondo – which could scarcely have been done better.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing