horizontal line

Purists might object to this repertoire on the piano, but the likes of Hewitt and Sokolov have proved it can work. Mariko Terashi, a student of harpsichordist Huguette Dreyfus, offers a carefully chosen programme, including four sonatas by Portuguese composer Carlos de Seixas (1704-1742). Terashi’s account of the Adagio of the Sonata No 8 proves there is real emotional weight here, while the A major (No 59) is meltingly lovely.

Helpfully, the booklet lists the later operatic occurrences of the works from Rameau’s Deuxième livre de pièces de clavecin. Although the Sarabandes from the Premier livre do not quite transfer to the piano, there remains much to enjoy, particularly Terashi’s limpid way with ‘L’entretien des Muses’ and her sense of space and exploration in the François Couperin pieces from four Ordres.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2019 - ©Rhinegold Publishing