horizontal line

This disc makes a welcome pendant to Ashkenazy’s long-standing series of solo, concerto and orchestral recordings of Rachmaninov, and speaks of a lifetime’s love of the composer. He is joined by powerfully persuasive string players, younger musicians who nevertheless speak with the same voice in truly committed performances of both Elegiac Trios. If at times one is reminded that Ashkenazy was 75 years old when he made these recordings, and if the recordings could sometimes be more transparent, this is still a welcome release.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing