horizontal line

Dvořák’s early A major concerto existed in sketches at something like 80 minutes, so it’s thanks to Gunter Raphael that we have such a compact, lyrical piece on the current disc. The heart of the work is the songful slow movement, which Isserlis clearly adores, surrounded by substantial outer movements of great freshness and joyful inspiration. The one danger is that the coupling, Dvořák’s better-known B minor concerto, gets ignored: but the same qualities appear in a performance as fine as any currently available. Warmly recommended.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing