horizontal line

Commissioned for Merton College’s 750th anniversary, Gabriel Jackson’s striking re-telling of the Passion proves to be modern, majestic and deeply moving. Cast in seven movements, it incorporates texts from the four gospels, Latin hymns and contributions from Merton alumni (T.S. Eliot, notably, in the effulgent finale). Soloists and choir eloquently weave through the shifting perspectives of this work of exquisite imagination with involving feeling, and the Oxford Contemporary Sinfonia take to Jackson’s often surprising but always richly executed orchestrations with aplomb. Quite unlike any Passion you’ve heard before, it is a rewarding work, deeply sincere, immediately accessible and deserving of much wider exposure.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2019 - ©Rhinegold Publishing