horizontal line

Biagio Putignano is one of Italy’s most celebrated exponents of new music and this disc brings together, for the first time, his own four organ works. These are complex, imaginative, daring and engaging compositions, and it is refreshing to discover a composer who plays the instrument and really knows how to create new sounds and effects. The addition of soprano Marie-Antoinette Stabentheiner in the final Tre pezzi sacri lends a further dimension to the soundworld, heightened by the voice moving around the building. Putignano’s work sits alongside excerpts from the earliest surviving Italian keyboard music collection, the 1420 Codex Faenza. These intabulations of great ingenuity are performed by Pier Damiano Peretti on an old 18th-century Italian organ and cleverly bring Putignano’s work into relief.

RUPERT GOUGH Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2019 - ©Rhinegold Publishing