horizontal line

Yet again, Decca does Britten posthumously proud. By conveniently repackaging all his studio recordings (and selected BBC broadcasts) of repertoire by other composers in one handy bargain-price box, they make this an unmissable purchase. Additionally, an entire Mozart programme with Pears and the LSO, hitherto forgotten, appears for the first time: the overture to Così is unusually dramatic and the G Minor Symphony No 40 makes a fascinating contrast with his acclaimed later ECO reading. Superb.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing