horizontal line

Yaron Ross’ liner notes speak of his affection for Mozart’s slow movements, and indeed the Andante cantabile of K310 and the Adagio of K576 are models of their kind. That of K576 is a particular triumph, a glorious, natural unfolding. The Sonata in A major K331, is structured differently, a theme and variations followed by a Menuetto and the celebrated Ronda alla Turca. Ross sustains the long variation movement superbly. His light touch in all finales is delightful, his ornaments natural throughout. Perhaps only the Allegro maestoso of K310 verges on the pedestrian, with an element of stop-start. But there is much to enjoy here, captured in decent sound.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2019 - ©Rhinegold Publishing