horizontal line

The name of Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739) hangs around the fringes of the musical world these days, the esteem he enjoyed in the 18th century long since forgotten. His worklist has suffered over the years as music attributed to him was reclaimed for other composers; to claim, as here, that he wrote ‘piano’ sonatas is perhaps an attempt to redress the balance. They’re generally simple fare, in two parts, the second imitative. Preserved in Venetian manuscripts, the five brief sonatas and three minuets here begin close to Scarlatti and end close to Bach. Bacchetti plays them beautifully, with poise and elegance.

MARTIN ANDERSON Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing