horizontal line

The colourful Overture to Bernstein’s Candide gets this hugely entertaining recital of jazz and blues- inspired organ pieces offto a rousing start. Throughout, Philip Scriven plays with obvious and gleeful relish for the polystylistic pirouetting of Zsolt Gárdonyi’s Mozart Changes, the cascading free-fall that is Peter Planyavsky’s Toccata alla Rumba, Mons Leidvin Takle’s raucously high-spirited Blues-Toccata and the startling originality of Iain Farrington’s seven-part Fiesta! For contrast, there’s a beautiful set of Three Blues Chorale Preludes and a captivating take on the traditional Irish melody Slane (more familiarly known as Be Thou My Vision), and much else to delight and please.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing