horizontal line

Veli-Matti Puumala (born 1965) is one of the leading composers of the younger generation in Finland. He constructs works in large paragraphs, with one foot in late modernism (like Lindberg and Saariaho, he was a pupil of Heininen) and the other in the mainstream traditions of Western music. His piano concerto Seeds of Time (2004) is a superb example of his more recent output, playing here for just over 39 minutes: a dramatic, colourful score with a virtuosic solo part, cast in three movements (which play continuously).

This work differs in crucial ways from the conventional norm: it shuns the ‘solo versus orchestra’ approach typical of many works in the regular

GUY RICKARDS Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2001 - ©Rhinegold Publishing