horizontal line

Viscerally exciting performances of three of Shostakovich’s best-known symphonies which hold their own in a very crowded field. The fourth and sixth symphonies especially brood impressively, coming blazingly to life when adrenaline is called for. Gergiev excels in this repertoire, and this is shaping up to be the most vital Shostakovich cycle of the 21st century.

Guy Weatherall Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing