horizontal line

Ibert had a wonderful ear for chamber and chamber-orchestral sonorities, as this delightful release of music for winds demonstrates. The Capriccio is a bold opener, the ten players revelling in the cheery bitonality and joie-de- vivre; the concerto too comes over well, a unique soundworld of cello and ten winds. Elsewhere, charming miniatures dazzle and, seemingly in an instant, are gone. Worth investigating.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing