horizontal line

Modernism, Paavo Heininen has said, ‘means openness to all the existing possibilities’. Evidence of that mantra is clearly to be heard in the composer’s music for organ, a consistent thread throughout a long career that has ranged across genres from operas and symphonies to electro-acoustic and jazz. Jan Lehtola’s authoritative four-disc survey spans as many decades to offer a vital portrait of Finland’s leading composer. With revealing notes by Heininen himself, it includes his first major work for organ, Oculus aquilae (a virtuosic exploration of polyphony); his first large-scale vocal work, the heartfelt and subtle Cantico delle creature; and the exquisite Bell Psalms for piano and organ. With a playing time of nearly five hours, an essential release.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing