horizontal line

Ketil Bjørnstad has long since moved beyond the new-jazz category that approximately located his earlier recordings for ECM. He is a formidable composer and in Marianne Beate Kielland he has a conductor ideally qualified to give the music an authentic spin. The Lofoten and Nordland accent is quite distinctive and carries over into singing. An Oslo choir – and there are many fine ones, of course – would not have given the oratorio quite the texture and cast of voice, particularly in the vowel sounds, which these northern singers convey. The texts are chosen from a wide variety of sources and are cleverly integrated into the score. It’s a quiet and reflective triumph.

BRIAN MORTON Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2021 - ©Rhinegold Publishing