horizontal line

Lovers of fairy tales and fantasy will need no recommending to seek out this hugely enjoyable recital by Jean-Baptiste Robin. There’s a special frisson in it coming from the characterful organ of Los Angeles’s Walt Disney Concert Hall. The imprint of the venue’s dedicatee is everywhere felt in wonderfully effusive renditions of fairy tale settings by Duruflé (a luminous account of the op.5 Suite), Debussy’s ethereal Clair de lune, Ravel’s Ma mère l’oye and Chopin’s elemental ‘Raindrop’ Prelude. Robin bookends with his own combustible, Tchaikovsky- accented Improvisation on Fairy Tales and The Hands of Time, a freewheeling transcription of Ravel’s Mother Goose Suite that makes vivid use of solo reeds and a resourceful swell box.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2021 - ©Rhinegold Publishing