horizontal line

Leopold Koželuch, born near Prague in 1747, was one of the many highly regarded musicians from Bohemia who were leading figures in Vienna in the second half of the 18th century. Renowned as a pianist as well as a composer, he was also, like Mozart, a Freemason – hence the very Mozartian cantata which forms the bulk of this disc, performed for the first time on 1 September 1783 at three Viennese lodges and full of explicitly masonic imagery and symbolism. Simona Eisinger is an appealing soloist, but the young singers of the choir are perhaps not the best advocates for this repertoire.

REBECCA TAVENER Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2020 - ©Rhinegold Publishing