horizontal line

This excellent set is performed at A=430Hz on original instruments or copies thereof. The temperament used is that of Bach/ Lehnman, which emphasises the brightness of sharp keys and the softness of flat ones.

The performance of the first trio is full of life, especially in the Presto finale; the crown is the expansiveness of the Adagio cantabile, wherein Maggie Cole’s touch is miraculous. The fortepiano, a McNulty copy of a 1795 Anton Walter, has a beautifully lucent sound, complemented by the gut strings on the violin and cello.

The Trio in G major is probably the least known of the three yet the work breathes serenity, reaching its apogee in the slow movement. The Trio Goya captures the heart of this work; this is one of the finest performances anywhere, while the dynamism of the C minor offers excellent contrast.

There are excellent notes by William Drabkin. This Beethoven complements this group’s superb Haydn for Chandos.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing