horizontal line

Ovsyanikova and Sinani are both young Russians who have studied at London’s RAM. They have a convincing partnership, precise but giving each other plenty of interpretive space, beautifully articulated in Ravel’s posthumously published first sonata. Debussy’s late sonata is not quite in their bones yet, perhaps; well played but not yet distinctive. They really come into their own in the Poulenc, though. The opening Allegro con fuoco fizzes along, its fire decorated by Ovsyanikova’s generously sweet tone. The Intermezzo is a moment of calm before they play two versions of the Presto tragico, its later revision and then its slightly longer original. These musicians are new to me but on this showing are impressive.

Simon Mundy Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2020 - ©Rhinegold Publishing